Devon County Council appoints new Chairman

Devon County Council appoints new Chairman

Devon County Council appoints new Chairman

First published in News

DEVON County Council has announced its new Chairman for the next year.

Outgoing Chairman Councillor Bernard Hughes OBE handed over to the Council's new Chairman, Councillor George Gribble at a meeting of the Full Council this week.

Councillor George John Gribble is local member representing Bovey Tracey Rural, the town in which he was born and has lived all his life, serving on many of the County Council's Committees.

The seven times Mayor of Bovey Tracey, Cllr Gribble also sits on Teignbridge District Council, and still sits on the Bovey Tracey Town Council where he has been since 1973.

His other appointments have included among others Devon and Somerset Fire and Rescue Authority; Dartmoor National Park Authority; and Devon Association of Local Councils.

George is a keen cricket supporter and Executive Committee Member of the Devon County Cricket Club. He thanked Councillors at the meeting for his new appointment.

He said: "I am enormously proud to have been asked to be Chairman of Devon County Council. It is a privilege for which I feel extremely honoured and gratefully accept."

Seaton Coastal member, Cllr Jim Knight has replaced Cllr Caroline Chugg as vice chairman.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree